top of page
Video Game Console

DISCOVER GET OUT OF MY HOBBY

A Major Multimedia Project by Akshay Kulkarni

Search
  • Writer's pictureAkshay Kulkarni

My Pitch

Updated: Dec 13, 2018

My project is going to be about the gatekeeping behaviour that is present in online gaming culture, especially towards women. The reason I chose to do this topic was because it has affected many people horribly, and we are still seeing the effects of this behaviour both within and outside the industry. It is a very sensitive topic for the many facets of the ever-expanding industry, and my aim was to try and cover all of them.


To do this, I made a presentation with my target market and a SWOT analysis of the project.



The feedback I received for my pitch was as follows:


"Overall a good presentation with an original idea.

Consideration of Professional Journalism Practice: Give more consideration to objectivity and be vigilant with regards to potential bias that could creep into this project"


I took this feedback to mean I should not exclusively focus on the fact that women are not exclusively targeted as part of this behaviour, and also focus on other facets of it, such as racism.


I intend to use this blog to show that off, as well as with my other pieces of content.


For now, I have secured an interview with a victim, and plan to follow up on an interview I had conducted earlier with an industry professional. The more aspects of this complicated issue I cover, the better rounded and professional it will be!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe

Stay up to date

CONTACT

Your details were sent successfully!

Magical Mountians
bottom of page